

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Darmstadt, 6 September 2013

Winners of the 7th European Biometrics Research and Industry Awards 2013 announced

On 4 September 2013 the European Association for Biometrics (EAB) awarded young researchers for their outstanding works in the area of biometrics. An international jury chose 3 candidates out of a broad range of submitted high quality papers to present their significant contribution in front of the jury, the EAB members and the public audience. These prestigious awards are granted annually by the European Association for Biometrics (www.eab.org) to individuals who have been judged by a panel of internationally renowned experts to be making a significant contribution to the field of biometrics research and innovation in Europe.

The European Biometrics Research Award 2013 has been given to **Finnian Kelly** from Trinity College Dublin, Ireland for his thesis titled "Eigenageing Compensation for Speaker Verification"

This years European Biometrics Industry Award goes to **Peter Wild** from The University of Salzburg, Austria for the thesis titled "On Enhancing Accuracy and Performance of Iris Biometric Systems in Surveillance".

Special honours were given by the jury to finalist **Huibin Li** from Ecole Centrale de Lyon, France for his contribution titled "Towards 3D Face Recognition in the Real: A Registration Free Approach based on Discrete Differential Geometry and Statistical Learning".





Front (left to right): Tom Kevenaar, Jean-Christophe Fondeur, Peter Wild, Finnian Kelly, Huiibin Li, Patrizio Campisi Back (left to right): Anil Jain, Christoph Busch, Raymond Veldhuis, Geunther Schumacher, Ajay Kumar, Alexander Nouak

The 2013 edition of the European Biometric Research and Industry Award was kindly sponsored by Safran Morpho.

Prof. Patrizio Campisi, chairman of this prestigious award, says:

"Biometrics are rapidly becoming an essential part of modern ICT infrastructure. Therefore I am very happy that this year we have seen a significant increase in the quality and quantity of submissions. It proves that these awards is clearly reflecting the current developments and with that they are directly contributing to the dynamics of the European research community on biometrics."

Jean-Christoph Fondeur, representing this years award sponsor Safran Morpho says: "Being a European biometrics and identity service provider we are very pleased that the EAB is putting its efforts into one of the most prestigious academic awards on biometric research. We



believe that the Industry Award has a positive impact on industrial innovation and development. European academic achievements in the field of biometrics are one of the best in the world. We are proud to support that through this award."

About the awards

The awards are stimulating innovation in academic research as well as in industry. Biometric experts with either one of the following profiles are cordially invited to submit their work:

- Academic researchers enrolled in the last or penultimate year of a Ph.D. program or who
 have obtained a Ph.D., with major focus on biometrics, from a European academic institution
 no later than two years before the given deadline, might consider applying for the award;
- Industrial researchers employed by European companies whose core business is biometrics might consider applying for the award. The industry award will be granted to the candidate that has created the strongest impact for industry.

The European Research and Industry Awards are both honoured with a 2.000,- € stipendium for each category. In addition tot hat the winning papers will be presented at the exhibition of the IDWorld 2013 event in Frankfurt, Germany on 5-7 November 2013. The finalists are also donated a free of charge one year membership of EAB.

The international jury

The EAB has succeeded in bringing together internationally renowned experts in biometrics to judge the European Biometric Research and Industry Award 2013 candidates. They include: Chairman of the EAB Award Committee:

• Prof. Patrizio Campisi, University of Roma TRE, IT Committee

Members of jury:

- Prof. Christoph Busch, Gjøvik University College, Norway
- Prof. Bernadette Dorizzi, Telecom SudParis, France
- Prof. Mike Fairhurst, University of Kent, UK
- · Prof. Patrick Flynn, University of Notre Dame, USA
- Jean Christophe Fondeur, Morpho, France
- Prof. Anil Jain, Michigan State University, USA
- Dr. Tom Kevenaar, GenKey, The Netherlands
- Prof. Josef Kittler, University of Surrey, UK
- Prof. Ajay Kumar, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
- · Prof. Arun Ross, West Virginia University, USA
- Dr. Günter Schumacher, JRC, European Commission
- Prof. Massimo Tistarelli, University of Sassari, Italy
- · Prof. Raymond Veldhuis, Twente University, The Netherlands



For further information on the EAB awards and the details of the application process as well as a list of the award winners so far, please visit: http://eab.org/award

For additional inquiries on the award please contact the chair of the EAB Award Committee:

Prof. Patrizio Campisi, University of Roma TRE

e-mail: campisi@uniroma3.it

About the EAB

The European Association for Biometrics (www.eab.org), founded in November 2011 and located in The Netherlands, is a pan-European non-profit association seeking to advance the proper and beneficial use of biometrics in Europe, taking into account the interests of European citizens, industry, academia and governments. The EAB is the European platform for biometrics. Driven by developments in connection with immigration challenges, the requirements of e-passport implementations and a whole range of emerging commercial applications, the EAB fulfils the role of an independent and multi-stakeholder platform where stakeholders can meet, exchange information and visions, discuss new initiatives and benefit from training and education programmes. The stakeholder groups represented by the EAB include operators, governments, industry, research, academia and citizens.

For more information about the EAB please contact secretariat@eab.org.