PRESS RELEASE



Darmstadt, 10 September 2014

Winners of the European Biometrics Research and Industry Award 2014 announced

Today the jury of the 8th European Biometrics Research and Industry Award has selected the three laureates of the 2014 edition of this prestigious competition. In front of the international jury the following results are announced:



Front (I to r): Stepan Mracek, Marcos Martinez Diaz, Laurent El Shafey, Patrizion Campisi Back (I to r): Jim Wayman, Christoph Busch, Raymond Veldhuis, Alexander Nouak, Günter Schumacher, Jean-Christophe Foundeur

The winner of the European Biometrics Research Award is **Laurent El Shafey** from the Idiap Research Institute (Switzerland) for his thesis *"Scalable Probabilistic Models: Applied to Face Identification in the Wild"*.

The European Biometrics Industry Award is granted to **Marcos Martinez Diaz** from the Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain) for his study "*Graphical Password-based User Authentication with Free-form Doodles*".

The Honorary Certificate has been provided to **Štěpán Mráček** from the Brno University of Technology (Czech Republic) for his thesis "3D face recognition based on the hierarchical score-level fusion classifiers".



Patrizion Campisi, chairman of the award Patrizio Campisi and full professor at the Department of Applied Electronics at the Università degli Studi "Roma TRE" (Rome, Italy) says about the about the 2014 edition:

"It is great to see so such high level presentations and excellent motivations by the three finalists. This benefits the dynamics and quality of biometrics research in Europe."



All three finalists have been awarded with a complementary one year EAB membership. In addition, the winner of the European Biometric Research Award 2014 as well as the winner of the European Biometric Industry Award 2014 received a commemorative certificate and a 2.000,00 € prize each. The winners were selected by all attending Jury members and EAB industry members. The awards are kindly sponsored by Morpho (Safran Group).

Jean-Christophe Fondeur, VP, Research & Technology at Morpho, says: "This award leverages European research on biometrics to an international level. At Morpho we are happy and honored to support this unique event, because we are convinced that our society will benefit from scientific advances derived from state of the art research. The European Biometrics Research and Industry Awards is unique in its kind and we are motivated to continue contributing to its further success."



For further information on the EAB awards and the details of the application process as well as a list of the award winners so far, please visit: <u>http://eab.org/award</u>

For additional inquiries on the award please contact the chair of the EAB Award Committee Prof. Patrizio Campisi at <u>campisi@uniroma3.it</u> or at <u>secretariat@eab.org</u>.

About the awards

The awards are stimulating innovation in academic research as well as in industry. Biometric experts with either one of the following profiles are cordially invited to submit their work:

- Academic researchers enrolled in the last or penultimate year of a Ph.D. program or who have obtained a Ph.D., with major focus on biometrics, from a European academic institution no later than two years before the given deadline, might consider applying for the award;
- Industrial researchers employed by European companies whose core business is biometrics might consider applying for the award. The industry award will be granted to the candidate that has created the strongest impact for industry.

The EAB has succeeded in bringing together internationally renowned experts in biometrics to judge the European Biometric Research and Industry Award 2013 candidates. They include: Chairman of the EAB Award Committee:

- Prof. Patrizio Campisi, University of Roma TRE, IT Committee Members of jury are:

- Prof. Christoph Busch, Gjøvik University College, Norway
- Prof. Bernadette Dorizzi, Telecom SudParis, France
- Prof. Mike Fairhurst, University of Kent, UK
- Prof. Patrick Flynn, University of Notre Dame, USA
- Jean Christophe Fondeur, Morpho, France
- Prof. Anil Jain, Michigan State University, USA
- Dr. Tom Kevenaar, GenKey, The Netherlands
- Prof. Josef Kittler, University of Surrey, UK
- Prof. Ajay Kumar, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
- Prof. Arun Ross, West Virginia University, USA



- Dr. Günter Schumacher, JRC, European Commission
- Prof. Massimo Tistarelli, University of Sassari, Italy
- Prof. Raymond Veldhuis, Twente University, The Netherland

About the EAB

The European Association for Biometrics (<u>www.eab.org</u>), founded in November 2011 and located in The Netherlands, is a pan-European non-profit association seeking to advance the proper and beneficial use of biometrics in Europe, taking into account the interests of European citizens, industry, academia and governments. The EAB is the European platform for biometrics, currently having 150 members from 35 countries. Driven by developments in connection with immigration challenges, the requirements of e-passport implementations and a whole range of emerging commercial applications, the EAB fulfils the role of an independent and multi-stakeholder platform where stakeholders can meet, exchange information and visions, discuss new initiatives and benefit from training and education programs. The stakeholder groups represented by the EAB include operators, governments, industry, research, academia and citizens.

For more information about the EAB please contact secretariat@eab.org.