. .

EAB-RPC 2023 – EAB Research Projects Conference 2023

Date: 2023-09-18 (2023-09-20) - 14:45 (16:00) Location: Fraunhofer SIT, Rheinstraße 75, 64295 Darmstadt, Germany

Organizer: The European Association for Biometrics (EAB) with the contribution of eu-LISA through its Governance and Capabilities Unit, the support of DG HOME of the European Commission, Fraunhofer IGD and Halmstad University.

Fees are non-refundable as from 7 days before the start of the event.

[Illustration] Banner on EAB Research Projects Conference (EAB-RPC 2023)

The 10th edition of the EAB Research Projects Conference is organised by the European Association on Biometrics (EAB) with the contribution of eu-LISA through its Governance and Capabilities Unit, the support of DG HOME of the European Commission, Fraunhofer IGD and Halmstad University.

The conference is currently the largest event on research funded by the European Union in the area of Biometrics and Identity Management. Over the previous successful editions, EAB-RPC has become the main forum in Europe where attendees can simultaneously: promote research carried out in biometrics, forge new links and networks, and identify the appropriate partners for possible future project applications. Last year’s edition welcomed over 70 participants from academia, industry and public institutions.

We thank our contributors:
Logo of eu-LISA Logo of the European Commission Logo of Fraunhofer IGDLogo of Halmstad University

We thank our DIAMOND sponsor:

Logo of secunet Security Networks

We thank our sponsors:

Logo of IDENTT Logo of TBS

We thank our media partner:

Logo of Biometric Update

Entrance fees: normal: 495,00 € / EAB members: 330,00 € / Speakers: 165,00 € / Students (BSc, MSc, PhD): 165,00 € / Panelist / Keynote Speaker: 0,00 € / EAB member virtual: 100,00 € / non-EAB member virtual: 200,00 €

Monday, 18 September 2023

14:45 Alexander Nouak
Dinusha Frings
Javier Galbally
Florian Kirchbuchner

Conference Opening

European Association for Biometrics
Fraunhofer IGD
Keynote I
15:00 Agnes Diallo

Keynote I

Executive Director of eu-LISA


Communication Break

Session projects I: mGov4EU, ITFLOWS, CEASEFIRE – Chair: Fernando Alonso
15:45 Rachelle Sellung
Carsten Schmidt

Presentation mGov4EU

Fraunhofer IAO
16:05 Georgios Stavropoulos

Presentation CEASEFIRE

Inf. Tech. Institute Centre of Research & Technology
16:25 Georgios Stavropoulos

Presentation ITFLOWS

Inf. Tech. Institute Centre of Research & Technology

Communication Break

Industry Session I: secunet, TBS – Chair: Alexander Nouak
17:00 Christian Rathgeb

Presentation SECUNET

secunet Security Network AG
17:20 Martin Drahansky
Ondřej Kanich

Presentation Touchless Biometric Systems AG

Touchless Biometric Systems AG
Demo Session and Welcome Cocktail

Demo Session and Welcome Cocktail

Demo Session 17:40 - 18:40

Welcome Cocktail and Get Together 17:40 - 19:40


End of Conference Day 1

Tuesday, 19 September 2023

Keynote I
09:30 Giulio Maria Mancini

Keynote I


Communications Break

Session projects III: EUROPOL, LIMPID, SOTERIA – Chair: Marta Gomez-Barrero
10:15 Eleni Kotonia

Presentation EUROPOL (not available online)

10:35 Pavlo Mozharovskyi
Philippe Hercelin

Presentation LIMPID

10:55 Nathan Ramoly

Presentation SOTERIA


Communications Break

Session projects IV: iMARS, MediaVerse, BullyBuster – Chair: Adithyan Nair
11:45 Kiran Raja

Presentation iMARS

12:05 Dimitris Karageorgiou

Presentation MEDIAVERSE

Centre for Research and Technology Hellas (CERTH)
12:25 Gian Luca Marcialis

Presentation BULLY BUSTER

University of Cagliari

Lunch Break

Session projects V: PriMa ITN – Chair: Fernando Alonso
14:00 Luyi Sun

Presentation PRIMA

Norwegian University of Science and Technology
14:20 Amina Bassit

Presentation PRIMA

University of Twente
Industry Session II: IDENTT – Chair: Javier Galbally
14:40 Wojciech Wodo
Paweł Narolski

Presentation IDENTT


Communications Break

Projects Session VI: RESPECT – Chair: Fernando Alonso
15:15 Massimiliano Todisco

Presentation RESPECT

15:35 Marta Gomez-Barrero

Presentation RESPECT

Ansbach University

End of Conference Day 2

Wednesday, 20 September 2023

Keynote III
09:30 William Graves

Keynote III

Deputy Assistant Director


Communication Break

Session projects VII: TReSPAsS – ETN – Chair: Marta Gomez-Barrero
10:15 Monique Kalsi

Presentation TRESPASS ITN

10:35 Oubaïda Chouchane

Presentation TRESPASS ITN


Communication Break

Projects Session VIII: MAMMOTH, TENSOR, FLEXIcross – Chair: Alexander Nouak
11:15 Ioannis Sarridis

Presentation MAMMOTH

Harokopio Univeristy of Athens, Centre of Research and Technology Hellas (CERTH)
11:35 Eleni Veroni, Spyros Evangelatos

Presentation TENSOR

Netcompany-Intrasoft SA
11:55 Giuseppe Vella

Presentation FLEXI-CROSS

Engineering Ingegneria Informatica SPA

Lunch Break

Round Table
13:30 Chaired by Javier Galbally

Advancing Biometric Technology and ID Management in the EU: Exploring the Need for Testbeds and Sandboxes

- William Graves, DHS/OBIM

- Pedro Torres, Youverse

- Patrick Grother, NIST

14:50 Alexander Nouak
Javier Galbally



End of the Conference Day 3